Awkwardness after someone asked for my phone number?

Discussion in 'Ballroom Dance' started by Shanae_87, Dec 5, 2013.

1. Shanae_87

Shanae_87 New Member

Ok, so I'm going to try keeping this as brief as possible but there was this one guy in the first group party I attended and I danced with him a few times. In the next group party he kept wanting to dance with me and although I cannot give an exact number, I think it was at least 4 or 5 times which I guess is normal in an hour and a half but I started getting bored of dancing with him.

I'm new to dancing so I might not be used to this but he was continually staring into my eyes during the Latin dances and I found that very awkward and started looking in another direction instead. I know that there needs to be eye contact but is there an extent to how much eye contact is needed in Latin dancing? I'm trying to give more eye contact with my dance instructor as he said it is something that should be done in Latin and although I'm a lot more used to him because of the months he has instructed me; I cannot help but laugh whenever I look him in the eyes.

Anyway, by coincidence the guy happens to live in the flat right opposite mine and sees me coming out of my building. He says hi and asked for my phone number and I did not see that coming. I hesitated for 5 seconds but saw him with his phone out and was ready to dial it in so I didn't want to be rude and was completely taken a back from this so while giving the number I was contemplating, giving him a fake number while giving him my correct one and I guess while doing this it sounded like I gave him the full phone number when in fact there were still two numbers missing but when he said nice number, I just left it at that without correcting him.