Be a Good Standard Dancer?

Discussion in 'Ballroom Dance' started by standardgirl, Nov 10, 2004.

1. standardgirl

standardgirl New Member

I just saw the video type of the 1998 Yankee Classic Pro Standard Open Comp. Chris and Hazel have become pro for only one year at that time, and they won the comp. I noticed that Chris and Hazel started dancing at age 17, and 16, which is not that early.

I started dancing at the age of 19, and I have been dancing for a few months. I really want to become a really good standard dancer. (I know I am thinking about this really early.....) My instructor often tells me that he does see potential in my dancing. But what I am wondering is that do I really have a future as a ballroom dancer? or am I done already since I started so late and I don't have an amature partner? I take 2 hrs private standard lessons everyweek, and practice 4 hrs a week (this is just for standard, excluding things I do for latin). Any idea?

What should I do in order to make it possible to become a really good dancer later (or let's say be good at whichever level I am at right now)? I have a good instructor, best in my area. Anyone knows anything abuot how champion were trained when they first started?
  2. Katarzyna

Katarzyna Well-Known Member

Most important, you need to develop strong fundamentals. You need to make sure that the teacher you have, is someone you can entirely trust with your dancing. Also, 4 hours doesn't strike me as that much time per week for practice if it is something that you take seriously.

Additionally, I think that latin adds a lot to your standard, but if you begin dancing at such a late age, focus is very important. If you want to make it in one specific style, you have to go for it 100%.

Can't quite say if my advice sets the right path for someone who started your age. (I was 20 when I started). I will let you know if I make it :wink: For now this seems like the best idea to me...