Becoming a Dance Instructor...?

Discussion in 'General Dance Discussion' started by SolarPlexus, Aug 13, 2003.

1. SolarPlexus

SolarPlexus New Member

I've been attending private & group ballroom dance lessons for about 9 months now. And like many students, I want to train & become a dance instructor. I'm curious about any advice that a seasoned dance instructor might have for me.

A few questions are specifically on my mind...

What might be some of the difference between starting at a franchise versuses starting at an independent?

What are some of the pitfalls to watch out for?

What areas should a beginning dance instructor focus on to become a great dance instructor?

If one's goal is to compete on a professional level, is there any different/specific areas one should focus on?

Any insights or bits of advice you might have would be greatly appreciated.
  2. DanceMentor

DanceMentor Administrator

If your goal is to compete on a professional level, being a teacher is certainly the first step. You want to find a studio that brings in top competitors from around the country on a regular basis, not once every month or two, but nearly every week. As your budget allows, take lessons from these people as often as possible. Sometimes you may need to travel to a competing studio to get the coaching.

If you are with a franchise, you may get an hourly wage even if you are not teaching as well as free training. This is especially good for an instructor that is just starting out.

If you can get to where you can easily charge $50+/hour and rent floor space for $20-/hour and you can keep 10+ private lessons on a consistent basis, you are well on your way.

Welcome to the Dance Forums, SolarPlexus. Keep asking questions and I think you'll figure what you need to do to be a success. :)
  3. d nice

d nice New Member