Beginner Study Both Vals + Milonga Advisable?

Discussion in 'Tango Argentino' started by Dufus, Sep 10, 2012.

1. Dufus

Dufus New Member

Would it be advisable for a beginner to start out taking a class in both Vals and Milonga on the same night?

The school I would be going to has a Level 1 class in Vals immediately following an L1 workshop in Milonga. Since I would already be at the school, it would be very convenient to take both classes consecutively.

However, I was wondering if it might be confusing for a beginner to take both styles at the same time?

I'm not a rank beginner. I did attend one two month long class in Argentine Tango a year ago. Almost all we learned how to do though, was walk forward and backward with a contra-body motion.
  2. Lilly_of_the_valley

Lilly_of_the_valley Active Member

Take it. Nothing bad will happen to you. :)
    Concentrate on music in both classes.
  3. newbie

newbie Active Member

Of course, attend both classes.
  4. UKDancer

UKDancer Well-Known Member

I introduce Vals & Milonga to beginners in exactly this way as the final, double-length, session of a short series of tango classes, and it seems to work well. Of course, we don't get very far in one evening, and we return to both styles in more depth in later classes for those that wish to continue. An awareness of the distinctive rhythms of these styles, adapting what beginners already know, is the main focus of the session.

All? Many would-be tango dancers can't do that, creditably, after several years. They should have paid more attention at the start, because tango is a walking dance. That said, the tendency of many teachers just to march their students up and down the room, for what seems like a significant part of early classes, is a real turn-off to many, many people. The students don't understand why it is important, and haven't developed good posture and cannot, immediately, carry their weight in the manner required.
  5. bordertangoman