Charleston dance instruction???

Discussion in 'General Dance Discussion' started by Furuidan, Dec 7, 2003.

1. Furuidan

Furuidan New Member

Hi, I'm new here, and I'm also new to dancing. I have a problem, I live in Charleston SC! There are absolutely no hip hop dance schools anywhere! What should I do? I'm only 15 so I can't move or anything. I pretty much just put on a song in my room, and dance to it. My dancing looks pretty stupid but its all i can do. Anyone have some advice? I am very serious about getting into dancing.

Thanks! 8)

2. will35

will35 New Member

Have you tried a place called Trudy's School of Dance?

3. MNswing

MNswing New Member

I know a friend out in CA (Mat) that teaches swing of all kinds and he is starting swing lessons ONLINE - you can go to his website and get some more information from him if you email him. He's a really really great dancer and knows a LOT about the history, different styles, and different techniques. The classes are online and you can download and save them to your computer so you can take the "classes" as many times as you want! It's a great deal... and believe me... if he wasn't good, I wouldn't recommend it. Here's his website - feel free to look around!!!

www.highdesertswing.com

It's a great way to practice and get comfortable with the dance in the comfort of your own home!

4. Furuidan

Furuidan New Member

WOW! Thanks! that was fast. I will check that out

oh by the way, yes I have checked out Trudys, it seems like an all girl school lol

do you guys know of any more online dancing lesson thingies?

5. MNswing

MNswing New Member

I would be interested in knowing the answer to that question as well... we were thinking my friend's idea is pretty much revolutionary... there are a lot of clips and videos available, but not classified as lessons and not at all the same. So yeah, anyone have an answer to that?

6. Furuidan

Furuidan New Member