Classic ballroom dance songs

Discussion in 'Ballroom Dance' started by ms.m, Jul 30, 2012.

1. ms.m

ms.m New Member

So, I'm not a dancer. At all. I'm a classical musician. My string orchestra is going to play for a ballroom dance in a few months, and I get to find the music. I want to make sure the dancers have a great time, but I don't know the first thing about dance!

We're supposed to have:

Waltzes
    Marches
    Cha-chas
    Foxtrots
    Tango
    Swing
    Polka

So, I was hoping I could pick the collective brains of this dancing community and ask a couple of questions.

1. What are some of the most classic, must-have pieces that fit into the categories above? If you were going to a dance, what would you want to dance to?

2. What are some things we should know, as an orchestra—like what might we inadvertently do that might drive the dancers crazy? The guy booking us mentioned keeping a steady tempo. Is there anything else we should pay attention to?

It is hard enough finding dance music for a string orchestra, but I think it will be easier if I have some specific titles to look for. I just want to make sure that we can do our part to make sure people have an enjoyable dance.

In any case, thanks in advance for any titles and advice you may be able to give!

2. DerekWeb

DerekWeb Active Member

I suggest that you look at the music lists on ballroomdancers dot com

also, look at their "learn the dance" section for "beats per minute" for each dance. This is what is most important to the dancers.

3. mindputtee

mindputtee Well-Known Member

And no accelerandos, ritardandos, or fermatas please.

4. mjnemeth

mjnemeth Member

See: http://www.dance-forums.com/showthread.php?t=41615
    good list of songs
    and
    https://sites.google.com/site/bdcuga2/ballroom-basics

5. GGinrhinestones

GGinrhinestones Well-Known Member