close or open embrace

Discussion in 'Tango Argentino' started by aqua, Jan 5, 2010.

1. aqua

aqua New Member

I've been dancing tango now for around 10 months, but I don't understand some stuff.
    Because I don't know the fancy steps, I prefer dancing in close embrace, because there is more feeling and everything is very subtle and smooth for me.
    However... here they dance most of the time in open style. If I do that, it just feels too disconnected and clumsy for me. (women tell me I dance fine though..its just my personal opinion)
    Strange thing is that people say that close embrace is more difficult.

Well, making a giro or sth requires more balance when in close embrace I noticed.

Am I the only one that thinks like this or what?

2. tangonuevo

tangonuevo New Member

One problem is that there is no single close embrace. You can dance full on close embrace and each still maintain your own axes, OR you can dance leaning on each other so that you would fall without your partner.

These each require different skills and each present their own sets of problems. As a lead, I find that close embrace with a leaning partner is more difficult than with a partner who manages her own balance.

3. chrisjj

chrisjj New Member

The more classes people have done, the more they find close embrace to be difficult. Most close-embrace dancers have done zero or few classes.

4. chanchan

chanchan Member

I think that some things are easier with close embrace, others with open embrace: open embrace is easier for focusing on yourself (doing your moves correctly, controlling your axis, etc.), closed embrace, especially if leaning, is easier for focusing on your partner (controlling her axis, her position, knowing where is her weight, and for the follower - i think - it is easier to understand what the leader wants).
    So, in a very first stage of learning, when you have to think to yourself and you don't care so much of leading, i think that open embrace is easier.