Collegiate Competition Attire

Discussion in 'Ballroom Dance' started by MissSongbird, Mar 14, 2013.

1. MissSongbird

MissSongbird Member

I'm a collegiate dancer (competing in American bronze and select newcomer latin) and I'm wondering about outfits/ costumes for the women. I know some of the basic rules, such as no sparkle until a certain level, but this knowledge is very slight. I was wondering what the rules are or what judges feel about outfits/ costumes for the lower levels. Is there stuff I should know to steer clear of? Is there anything judges don't like to see?

I'm planning on making a skirt this summer to use for smooth. It's not going to be all that extravagant (I'm not THAT good at sewing), but I want it to be nice and flowly. I just don't want to go overboard.

I've also been extremely curious about this. The outfits of the lower level dancers are changing. They are more costumey than they had been in the previous year.
  2. Titoxd

Titoxd Member

Generally speaking, there is no such thing as "generally speaking" in the costume rules for collegiate competitions. Every competition has its own costuming rules, which should be specified in the competition rules and information packet. If the competitions do not specify costuming rules, contact the organizers for clarification.

As president of my university's team, I discourage my newcomers from focusing excessively on outfits. At these levels, fundamentals tend to be the main discriminant between the way couples place at a competition, not costuming. In fact, I just attended a relatively-large collegiate competition (~400 competitors) in which the newcomer smooth and standard events were won by a couple wearing simple prom outfits, no sparkles whatsoever.
  3. UMASSshoesandcostumes

UMASSshoesandcostumes Active Member