Contemplating Entering Jack and Jill

Discussion in 'General Dance Discussion' started by rbazsz, Jun 10, 2011.

1. rbazsz

rbazsz New Member

Soon a big dance convention is coming my way. I'm going to go to some of the workshops and watch the competitions.

They have Jack & Jills and the idea intrigues me. They have Nov/Inter/Adv/All Star divisions, but I'm not totally sure what that means in terms of social dancers like myself.

The problem is this: I'm a rapidly rising novice but most of the guys that I see are way better. Of course that's because the average guy takes the group lessons and then leaves, so I'm comparing myself with the upper crust of the dance community. I know I'm good enough to lead many women into having a fun dance but they all know they can't do their favorite advanced moves with me.

So, I'm afraid that if I enter the Jack & Jill am I doing the ladies a disservice? For sure any of them that draw me are not going to win anything -- but is that the point?

Even more ominous: I can picture being lined up to be matched with partners and the ladies are crossing their fingers hoping they don't draw me. How would I deal with a situation where the lady gives me a hint that she is sooooooo unlucky to get me, so I better perform to her expectations.

I would be interested in hearing from ladies that entered JJ contests and how they felt when they drew a man that wasn't a good enough lead to win or even to enable you to look close to your best, and perhaps hear from a few men that have dealt with this dilemma.
  2. megeliz

megeliz Member

good. solid. basics. in newcomer/novice, that's ALL we pray for in a lead.
  3. yagottabelieve

yagottabelieve New Member