"Could I Have This Dance" - Alternate Versions of the Song?

Discussion in 'Ballroom Dance' started by Medira, Feb 22, 2007.

1. Medira

Medira New Member

One of the instructors at my studio has a wedding couple that he's working with. The other day, he came to me asking if I knew of alternate versions of the song "Could I Have This Dance (For the Rest of my Life)" because they think the lyrics are perfect, but they aren't too fond of Anne Murray. So, I checked through what I've got (I work as a DJ) and came up with one other version, but it has a couple of pauses in it which would be just long enough to throw off new dancers. So, in times like these, I come to my DF family and ask:

Do you know of any good, danceable versions of this song that aren't done by Anne Murray?

2. Indiana_Jay

Indiana_Jay Active Member

Speak of the Devil and she shall appear!

Hey there, friend, I just mentioned you in another thread. Hope you're well.

3. delamusica

delamusica Active Member

4. delamusica

delamusica Active Member

Upon further googling . . .

He is apparently a pretty famous country singer. So if they like country but just don't like Anne Murray . . .

The song is on his cd titled "40 #1 Hits" which is available on amazon.com. On his cd, the song is titled "Cowboys and Clowns," but the lyrics are the same.

5. Indiana_Jay

Indiana_Jay Active Member

Did a quick search of iTunes and found many covers of the song. Sampled a few and none caught my fancy (including a reggae version!). You might want to check out that resource and see if you like any of the versions iTunes has to offer.

-IJ

6. Medira

Medira New Member

Thanks for the suggestion! Unfortunately, they're trying to get away from the country feel. I'll defintiely keep looking though because I have a feeling it could come in handy for running dances. :)

7. Medira

Medira New Member