Current shoes causing pain, how do I find a new pair?

Discussion in 'Ballroom Dance' started by leee, Nov 3, 2010.

1. leee

leee Well-Known Member

I'm new to dancing (started in April), and in July I bought a pair of Stephanie shoes. They felt very tight in the toes, especially the left shoe -- when I'm wearing them, the distance between the tip of my toes and the front of the shoe is probably less than half the width of my thumb -- but the saleslady said it's supposed to be that tight.

Well, after a couple of months, my left foot was getting injured -- I was probably overworking my plantar fascia -- and I'm pretty sure it's because of the shoes. I went back to the saleslady to see if I could get a new, bigger pair at a discounted price, but she clearly wasn't excited about that and instead suggested insoles w/ arch support, which only help a little bit (and I'm not talking the cheap Dr. Scholes insoles, I bought some $50 ones).

I also talked to some of the instructors at the studio I go to, and they recommended International shoes because they have a full shank, which theoretically would help out with my arches.

Anyway, long story short, here's the thing: how do I know what shoes will be right for me without sinking $150 on a pair that might end up screwing up my feet? Mind you, the current pair took a couple/few months before they started to hurt, so a brief in-store test drive doesn't seem to indicate how well I'll do in them. The only thing I know that works for sure is not dancing, which, clearly, is not something I want to resort to.

(One teacher even suggested asking a shoe company to send me some pairs to try on for a small deposit, returning the ones that don't work for me -- an idea that sounds far-fetched to me, but is there any credence to it?)

2. harp34552

harp34552 Member

Can you maybe borrow a pair from a lady at your studio with similarly-sized feet? Or buy a gently-used pair online to see if the type of shoe works for your foot?