Dancing and emotions

Discussion in 'General Dance Discussion' started by Carna, Sep 2, 2013.

1. Carna

Carna New Member

I started ballroom/Latin dancing, late in my life as an absolute beginner, 15 months ago, and I am now at the Bronze intermediate level and have been at a handful of pro/am competitions.

Besides performance anxiety before competitions, I often have intense emotions during dance lessons, positive and negative.

Do you experience that too?
    chomsky likes this.
  2. fascination

fascination Site Moderator Staff Member

not sure why this is in articles, but....to answer; when I was a beginner; yes (often)...now; occasionally...and I think it makes perfect sense
    chomsky likes this.
  3. Carna

Carna New Member

Sorry, I am brand new, have to find my way around.
  4. fascination

no problem...welcome...I will move it to a more appropriate location
  5. Lioness

Lioness Well-Known Member

Not sure why this is an issue...
    Hedwaite and chomsky like this.
  6. fascination

precisely
    chomsky likes this.
  7. chomsky

chomsky Well-Known Member

Dear Carna, I have the same experience and it's more often than not. Dance is deeply emotional for me, it brings out all my emotions sometimes negative sometimes positive. I don't think I control it and that's the nice thing about it. I'm not just working on my body I'm working on my soul and it leads me to a better understanding of myself too. A very interesting thread, well done and welcome to the dancing comunity then, not just DF!
  8. opendoor

opendoor Well-Known Member