Dancing at original speed

Discussion in 'Ballroom Dance' started by teotjunk, Oct 7, 2012.

1. teotjunk

teotjunk Member

Hi I just started learning dancing. I was just wondering is there any point for me to go social dancing because I find that when I dance at original speed, my technique breaks down. Would I be better off using the time to practice dancing on my own

teotjunk
  2. mjnemeth

mjnemeth Member

One reason is you get to watch others doing it! Good way to learn.
    You don't say what kind of dance. Where does your technique.
    Footwork?
  3. Wannabee

Wannabee Well-Known Member

In most cases, the best way to learn things is to do them. And in this case, dancing with a partner, to music, at speed will do wonders for your dancing. Social dances are the perfect time to do that. You can certainly benefit from time spent practicing on your own, but if it were me, I wouldn't sacrifice time with a partner to do it.

Of course like mjnemeth pointed out, I'm assuming we're talking about ballroom dancing? Or at least partner dancing? If not, disregard all previous information.
  4. Sagitta

Sagitta Well-Known Member

How much slower is your practice dancing compared to what you find socially? Socially I typically find that there is a range of tempos. You might be able to do the slower songs, or the slowest ones.

If you give an idea of what sort of dancing you are talking about that would be helpful.
  5. teotjunk

teotjunk Member

ballroom and latin. I could always use the time to have a private lesson or book a studio where i can slow the music down
  6. GGinrhinestones

GGinrhinestones Well-Known Member