Dating, Love...and Salsa

Discussion in 'Salsa' started by Kindra, Feb 14, 2005.

1. Kindra

Kindra New Member

As not to "hijack" another topic...I'll post this here.

cierre boca y baile just wrote in the "In Love with Salsa, Help, Post":

"The last girl I was dating I am no longer, because I couldn't get her to go dancing enough (I thought once a week wasn't too much to expect) and there was basically nothing else wrong with her."

This post brought up a few thoughts/questions for me, maybe because it's Valentines Day....who knows..

Given that I'm fairly new to the "social" dance world, specifically the salsa world, and fresh out of a divorce....I find that I have no desire to really date anyone within my local scene, as not to cause any drama that could hinder my future dance experiences or friendships.
    However I see a dilemma in that, especially if one day (a day far, far away) I want to share that passion/love for music and dance with someone.

So,I wonder...Who makes it a practice to date within their local salsa scene?? What obstacles have you had to overcome, to keep fulfilling your need for dancing? If you both love the "experience", how do you keep the scene from interfering with your relationship, etc?

For those who date non-dancers, what do you feel is a healthy dance expectation of the person you are dating (who doesn't NEED to dance as much as you)? And when trying to incorporate your non-dancer love into your world, do you feel limited by them...wishing they could just dance as well as you, etc??

Anyone know of a married/exclusive couple that maintain a healthy relationship, while still taking advantage of the excitement and diversity the salsa world offers?
  2. squirrel

squirrel New Member

I do not really worry about this... I worry more about gossip in the scene... :)