Do I have a bad teacher? Should I quit?

Discussion in 'Tango Argentino' started by M. Bingley, May 10, 2013.

?

Should I quit?

1. Yes

63.6%
  2. No

36.4%
  1. M. Bingley

M. Bingley New Member

I'm debating whether to continue tango argentino. On one hand, it's an art form that I really, really enjoy. On the other, I'm becoming more and more uncertain about my instructor. I've gotten to the point where I'm thinking about quitting, and since there is only one tango school in my town, that'd mean stopping tango.

The school is cliquish and insular. The instructor is narcissistic and immature. I can deal with this sort of stuff, but the two things below bother me especially, and I want your opinion -- does this sound normal for the tango world?

1. The instructor has the irritating tendency to attribute character flaws to students who aren't able to keep up. The class is mixed, with students of different ability levels. It often includes complete beginners with only a few lessons under their belt. But this mixture makes it difficult for everyone to stay on the same line, which he often requests. His response is to yell at everyone, telling us to stop being selfish. In other words, he, as an instructor, can't see what the real problem is, misdiagnoses the problem, and in his blindness, is willing to accuse his students of something ugly when they're trying hard. This happens regularly.