Dresses for a "plus size" dancer.

Discussion in 'Ballroom Dance' started by Izzy20, Oct 15, 2009.

1. Izzy20

Izzy20 New Member

I've been dancing for almost 2 years now and am starting to look for a dress to buy. I'm not a thin dancer. I'm about a 14/16 dress size and I'm only 5'1. All the dresses I've seen online have either been waaaayyy too small or really pricey. I know I can't be the only woman who's had this problem before. Any advice out there? Also, I'm only 21 so I like young styles.

Thanks for any help!

One last thing I'm looking for a relatively cheap dress.

OH! i dance rhythm. almost forgot.
  2. fascination

fascination Site Moderator Staff Member

dresses really stretch...so I would go to some comps and try stuff on ...you never know what you will find...and if you see a rental that is sized as low as an 8 you might actually get into it...I know this b/c for my entire dance life I have been between an 8 and a 16 and it hasn't much affected my ability to find something that fits off the rack...good luck
  3. Izzy20

Izzy20 New Member

thanks. I recently rented a dress that was a 10-14 and it fit really well. It's just frustrating when 99% of dresses online are 0-2.
  4. fascination

fascination Site Moderator Staff Member

yea...but grab a few that are 8-10 and just see...because, honestly alot of that fabric is remarkable...I have worn dresses that belonged to fairly small pros and dresses that have belonged to women quite a bit larger than I...you just never know
  5. mad123

mad123 Member