Fitness activities outside of studio practice?

Discussion in 'Ballroom Dance' started by manteca, Jun 11, 2013.

1. manteca

manteca Member

What types of fitness activities do you do in addition to studio practice? I dance mainly Latin Ballroom and I'd like to add some workouts that can directly benefit the dances.
  2. fascination

fascination Site Moderator Staff Member

I am an AFAA certified fitness instructor and instructor trainer....I have taught a variety of classes....I am not certain that I would call any workout directly beneficial in terms of being able to see some direct crossover effect....that being said, cardio vascular fitness, strength and flexiblity are all critical to being a fit dancer if one is going to dance at an advanced level....so any aerobic activity is important...each has its strengths and weaknesses....obviously you can get on an elliptical or treadmill, a bike or a rowing machine... you can do each of these more or less intensely to derive more or less benefit and more or less consequent effect in both fitness and need for recovery....some put more wear and tear on the body...as to classes; zumba is hot right now...it can help or hurt depending upon how mindful you are of the difference in quality of movement once you are dancing... but it does use many of the same muscles in a similar way...still, so does step...and to do some toning, intervals, pilates, etc. for strength is a good idea and to do some yoga for flexibility...if you have to pick and choose due to limited time or money, ask yourself what you most need...strength? speed? coordination? weight loss?, increased cardio vascular capacity? flexibility?...then ask a professional to design a plan for you within your time and budget constraints
  3. Sania

Sania Active Member

Yoga helped me a great deal with core strength, balance / groundedness, flexibility, and posture.