flexibility and fitness for ballroom dancers

Discussion in 'Ballroom Dance' started by alemana, Jun 22, 2005.

1. alemana

alemana New Member

i'm a newbie ballroom dancer, a salsa dancer (for about two years) and happily, a bit of a fitness buff. i love to lift weights, and force myself to do cardio a couple times a week as well.

one thing that's increasingly evident to me is my lack of flexibility in my back and trunk. i always fancied myself flexible, but the truth is, here in my mid-30s things aren't moving and grooving the way they used to.

in addition, my little weightlifting hobby, while performing admirably in the body sculpting arena, probably isn't helping with flexibility. i do stretch after every workout and have recently become more committed to it, but it's not enough.

the knee-jerk answers seem to be pilates and/or yoga. i'm also very interested in taking beginner ballet (for a variety of reasons.) the truth is that i can't afford to do them all, and some are less expensive than others. i'm trying to pick the right complementary practice for my problems and goals.

i would love to hear suggestions from folks who've done any or all of the above. i know all three would help me, but i'm searching for the one 'extra' thing i can do that will help me the most.

2. Laura

Laura New Member

Have you ever tried taking a Feldenkrais ATM ("Awareness through Movement") class? They are group classes so they aren't very expensive, and you spend about an hour to an hour and a half exploring your body, where it's stiff, and finding other ways to move. See, stiffness isn't just due to muscle fibres not being able to stretch -- it's also from just being stuck in the habits you have for moving that particular area. If you can find other ways to move, you can break up the habit or "holding pattern," and can find new awareness and freedom and movement etc.