Hairstyles for natural hair African American Women

Discussion in 'General Dance Discussion' started by LovelyChocolate, Mar 27, 2013.

1. LovelyChocolate

LovelyChocolate New Member

I am new to the dance world and have a lot of unique things about me. First off, I am an African American woman, and second, I have a massive amount of natural (unrelaxed or chemically treated) hair. In researching to see if there were other natural hair African American women dancers, I have come to the conclusion that they are very rare or nonexistent. So that is why I decided to post this thread.

My inability to do the typical low/high buns is of concern to me as a dancer. I have way too thick of massive hair to execute these styles. So what I am pretty much asking is what can I get away as far as hairstyles are concerned with having an extreme amount of thick hair? I do not wear fake hair so wigs, fake ponytails, etc are out of the question. I am very proud of my hair and will not "hide it" because someone else may feel it is not suitable for dancing.

Thank you in advance for your help!
  2. Mr 4 styles

Mr 4 styles Well-Known Member

Trendlyon Veal in WCS has nice hair... much like yours

Ballroom or Latin it might be tough
  3. pygmalion

pygmalion Well-Known Member

That was my thought as well, Mr4S.

[​IMG]
    Mr 4 styles likes this.
  4. middy

middy Well-Known Member

Maybe playing around with braids? Something like this would be lovely:

[​IMG][​IMG]

I saw a girl competing with super super short natural hair and she was gorgeous, but I guess cutting it that short isn't for everyone.
    debmc and dbk like this.
  5. danceronice

danceronice Well-Known Member

Style on the right would be kick-@$$ for Smooth/Standard (though I'm guessing that would NOT be cheap.)

For Rhythm or Latin I'd say go with neat natural. You can get away with more hair movement, assuming you can keep it off your face (just like pulled back.)
    LovelyChocolate likes this.
  6. Mr 4 styles