Hardest dance to conquer

Discussion in 'General Dance Discussion' started by MadamSamba, Jan 4, 2004.

1. MadamSamba

MadamSamba Member

Hi, folks. Obviously the answers will be many and varied, but what style of dance or actual dance do you find most difficult?

Personally, I have a hard time getting my head around dances with foxtrot timing. What about you? Is there a style, a dance or a particular move that seems to thwart you every time?
  2. Sagitta

Sagitta Well-Known Member

What do mean when you refer to foxtrot timing MadamSamba?

Personally I find many dances difficult. I'm just a raw beginner, crawling along, and just learning to take my first steps. :)
  3. MadamSamba

MadamSamba Member

Sagitta, here in Australia, we have a dance style called New Vogue. It's basically sequenced dances based on old-fashioned dancing. It's beautiful, but also very florrid and filled with fancy moves and great big arm movements. Several of the, the Barclay Blues, for example is done to Foxtrot timing. I hate that because I can never figure out my Q, Q, Slows! :)
  4. Sagitta

Sagitta Well-Known Member

I was asking about the timing as the Q, Q, S timing basic is identical to rhumba, and salsa. However, S,S,Q,Q pattern is different. This reminds me of country dancing where the q,q is not side, together but forward, forward or shuffle, shuffle. :) That's where the difficulty comes in for me. Melding the two basics together seemlessly when dancing. I haven't done that much foxtrot, anyway, so maybe it's a matter of getting more dancing under my belt. :)
  5. looyenyeo

looyenyeo New Member

What a great question, and one that is very close to my heart - the foxtrot.

I don't believe that there is anything inherently difficult in the concept of timing in the slow foxtrot i.e. SSQQS where 2xQ=1xS, in 4/4 time.