HELP!! Extremely eager to learn dance, but have absolutely no idea where to start!!

Discussion in 'General Dance Discussion' started by BanaramaLlama, Jul 11, 2012.

1. BanaramaLlama

BanaramaLlama New Member

Hey, so I'll give you the full story so you're in the know!

I'm a 21 year old student from England (this is an international site, right?) and for quite a few months I've had only what I can describe as a burning desire to learn dance...

I'm a guy and not the kind of person most people would naturally assume would want to dance as I'm passionate about martial arts (But Jean Claude Van Damme studied Ballet & Bruce Lee was an accomplished dancer!). I train 7 days a week (if possible) in several arts and I'm driven to pursuing them as far as I can!

Here is where I start to hit problems:

I currently cannot afford dance classes or even fit them in my timetable (most classes in my city run in the evening, which is when I train etc). But this is not what I need your help on...

Where I need some guidance is that I know absolutely NOTHING about dancing, so I don't know which style I would want to learn to start with!

I've asked around friends, friends of friends and other places going to absurd lengths to try and find someone who will be willing to have an honest chat with me about dance, or even teach me in their spare time- but I've have zero luck on that. Most people don't think I'm serious and quite a lot of women think I'm just wanting to 'learn' so I can get in their pants, thus not giving me the time of day.

The internet is difficult to find info on, or maybe I'm just terrible at finding the gold but it suddenly dawned on me that a forum like this could give me a little help.