How long did it take for you to master multiple turns and spins?

Discussion in 'General Dance Discussion' started by JustLiving08, Feb 15, 2010.

1. JustLiving08

JustLiving08 New Member

Also, do you spot?
    What about the fancy spins? (Like spinning on one foot, or the coffee grinder? haha, I have no idea what that is called... I just remember Mary pointing it out one season during an audition.)

I was surprised to learn that some people can spin without spotting. I guess since I started learning how to turn and spin, I've always had my instructors emphasize how important spotting is. It wasn't until I met my current instructor that I learned some people can spin without spotting and have no problems.

I've been dancing on and off for over 2 years now (mostly off I guess, I tend to start and stop a lot haha) and I've decided that if nothing else sticks from all the lessons and time I've put into dance, I would like to have *at least* learned how to spin well. (It used to be, I had to have at least mastered cuban motion, but since I've stopped pursuing any latin dances, that kind of got scrapped. lol)

Apparently I've already picked up quite a few bad habits, some of which I didn't know about until I started lessons with my current instructor... like my neck tightens up or something? I also tend to want to pop up instead of relax/bend my knees. Most of the time I don't even notice myself doing it... but since my instructor pointed it out to me, I try and be extra conscious about it now when I'm dancing.

Anyways, I'm just curious how long it will take and not to mention how much effort/time I will need to put into practicing before I can spin like Tatiana Mollman or other pro dancers.

(Mods, if there's already a post on this, I'm sorry! I did a search and browsed a few pages but didn't see anything...)
  2. Ray Sison

Ray Sison New Member