How to tell someone they're a bad leader... tactfully?

Discussion in 'Ballroom Dance' started by Artemia, Jul 29, 2009.

1. Artemia

Artemia New Member

I'm new to this forum so please forgive me if this has been discussed somewhere else in the past.

I've been dancing for going on 9 months now, not so long in the grand scheme of things but far more than a lot of the other people in my studio. Since I'm one of the younger types at my studio, I try to keep a peppy and upbeat attitude -- I know everyone's name, I smile and laugh and make encouraging jokes when I'm dancing with someone who might appear a bit uncomfortable to be dancing steps that are new for them.

The main thing is that I don't criticize people when they do things wrong, if I say anything at all it'll be to the extent of "next time we dance we'll TOTALLY get that" or whatnot.

However, last night one of the students who had been on vacation for a few weeks came back and I ran into a situation I have no idea how to deal with. He's always been a poor leader, leading with his shoulders rather than his hips, trying to use his arms to push you wherever he thinks you should go. (We'll ignore the fact that he tries to teach cuban motion to the newcomers but has no idea how to do it himself, etc.)

Usually I can avoid dancing with him but there was only one class last night and we were all rotating. We were working on peekaboos in salsa and cha cha and somehow he got it into his head that by pulling the woman's arm she'll turn (when we already know we need to turn by the lead of the pattern.) So, while facing in a completely awkward direction, he ripped my arm around, causing my shoulder to pop painfully.

It was the end of the pattern, so while attempting to pretend that nothing was severely wrong, I thanked him and moved on, trying to figure out how to tell him politely to stop yanking on the woman's arm. I didn't come up with anything worthwhile and I didn't want to seem too preachy, so I just moved on.