Pattern shape for cowl drape?

Discussion in 'Ballroom Dance' started by Chris Stratton, Feb 19, 2005.

1. Chris Stratton

Chris Stratton New Member

Does anyone know the general shape of the piece(s) of fabric used to make a draped cowl to add to a neckline?

I had a pattern for a dress that featured one, but can't find it.
  2. mamboqueen

mamboqueen Well-Known Member

I'll wager 2 heel protectors and a red MAC lipstick that Laura can answer this!
  3. DancingJools

DancingJools Member

If I understand your question, here's one way to answer it:
    The general principle is: Take a triangle, where two sides are equal, and equal to the length of the seam you want to attach the cowl to (e.g. the side seams of the torso, if you want to use the cowl drape for a front or back of the bodice). Now fold the triangle in half along the middle axis (sorry, I studied geometry in English many, many years ago and for the life of me can't remember the terminology). The middle line (the one that comes from the top of the triangle to the mid-point of the base) is now your center seam line. You will need to cut the peak of the triangle so there is a line there that fits where the cowl will be attached (e.g. the waist line), or you may not need to do that, depending on how you want to use the cowl.
    Drape the fabric and experiment. You can also think of this as a wedge in a circle, where the radius is the length of the seam you want to attach the cowl to, and the circumference part is the swingy part of the drape. Then you adjust the sharp corner of the wedge by cutting across it, to make the cowl fit where you want to place it.
  4. Laura

Laura New Member

I don't know everything about sewing!