Pop/Modern Music for ballroom dancing

Discussion in 'Ballroom Dance' started by Scarecrow, Oct 28, 2006.

1. Scarecrow

Scarecrow New Member

Ive spent the last month searching around the net for a good list of "Modern" or "Pop" music that has the right tempo and beat for ballroom dancing.
    Ive found a site with an extensive list of music for the jive, but im still looking for more. Specifically for dances like the Pasa Doble and the waltz.

The reason i ask is that im a highschool student whos learning how to dance with a couple of girls from my school. We practice on the school oval nearly every day, we like the music that is made specifically for ballroom dancing, but wed also like to be able to dance to mainstream music.

If anyone could give me a link or a list of pop/modern music for these dances it would be great.

smidra86 likes this.
  2. It's Wonderful

It's Wonderful New Member

I don't know of any lists, though I'm sure they're out there, but have you looked through the DF music? You can browse by dance, I believe, and I'm sure you'd see some pop music in the lists.

3. It's Wonderful

It's Wonderful New Member

A quick glance at the song list brought these two up (both waltz)

Breakaway
    Kelly Clarkson

If I Ain't Got You
    Alicia Keys

4. tangotime

tangotime Well-Known Member

music

Go to " telemark dance music ".-- They have a list of various titles, but when you say " pop ",--what era are you talking about ? as in -- the fifties, sixties, nineties etc ?--- And p.s.-- keep up with the dancing, you will never, ever regret the experience, and it will serve you well .:D

5. Scarecrow

Scarecrow New Member

Hmmm tangotime ive looked at that website not exactly what im looking for. Im looking for something like the list at www jiveaholics co uk/music/ (replace all the spaces with .s)...