Satin shoe dye - recommendation needed

Discussion in 'Ballroom Dance' started by tuxedosam, Jul 1, 2007.

1. tuxedosam

tuxedosam New Member

Hi Folks, a friend of mine has 2 pairs of white satin shoes and she would like to dye them (to the tan satin color). I have no experience in the domain. Anything you can share with me?

- where to get shoe dye?
    - what dye is good?
    - how to dye the shoes?

Thanks!
  2. Laura

Laura New Member

I have an odd way of dying shoes. I use RIT liquid dye in "tan", and I dye the shoes in a hot water bath. I know this sounds terrifying, to dump one's shoes in a nearly-simmering spaghetti pot full of liquid dye and water, but it works for me...

Actually, I buy flesh-colored satin shoes all the time these days, so I don't dye white ones any more.

Dylon is supposed to be good for doing shoes, you mix up the dye and sponge it onto the shoes (try using a cosmetics sponge).

I can get RIT and a limited number of colors of Dylon at my local non-chain arts & crafts store. You can get LOTS of dyes online at Dharma Trading Company (just Google it). There is a brand of dye at Dharma called Jacquard, I've used it to dye nylon lycra, ostrich feathers, and dance shoes.

I've also used something at Dharma called Dye-Na-Fast. It's a fabric paint that acts like a dye in that it doesn't dry stiff. It comes in a bunch of colors, and I've sponged it on to various pairs of shoes and had them come out quite well.
  3. Joe

Joe Well-Known Member

Haven't there been a dozen threads on this already?
  4. FatBaldGuy60

FatBaldGuy60 New Member

Women and shoes....what do you expect?

FBG
  5. samina

samina Well-Known Member

pro & his partner told me this weekend that they use regular old watercolors (you know, the ones that come in little squares) to mix up a color & dye their shoes. for flesh satin shoes that have become dingy, they insist it restores their look. and they use the watercolor on white shoes when they don't want the flesh tone.