Switching to on2: Stuck with over-advanced ladies

Discussion in 'Salsa' started by Lockstep, Oct 29, 2005.

1. Lockstep

Lockstep New Member

Hey all,

glad to be back here on df, have been away for a while, travelling, studying, etc, but active again as you can see...of course didn't commit the mortal sin of quitting salsa dancing meanwhile...resulting in this issue

In the Netherlands, the salsa scene is predominantly LA on1, with the exception of the more advanced dancers who are all solely dancing NY on2. I've recently begun starting to make the switch from on1 to on2, taking a basic class, but, of course, practice is the key.

Here, though, is the problem. Whereas when I was an absolute salsa beginner, finding ladies was never a problem, as there were plenty of other lady beginners around, willing to experiment, mess around a bit, and learn through trial and error.

However, given the salsa scene around here, the only ladies to dance with on2 are extremely advanced. There's no way you can possibly get away with doing the most basic stuff of on2 and get away with it without having forever blown your reputation with that lady...in fact, usually u don't even get to that point, as I found out today, these on2 ladies appear to be a rather arrogant bunch and I've been rejected nearly half of the times today by them...a rejection from time to time when asking a lady to dance, sure, that's normal, for whatever reason, but with this amount, it's causing me to get stuck where I am!

First, I can't dance LA high level with these ladies, cuz they'll reject you insisitng on on2

Second, I can't dance on2 because in order to do so I first need some 'low-level' on2 ladies or very eager-to-help advanced on2 ladies. Somehow, neither category appears to exist [in sufficient amounts].