Syllabus Strict?

Discussion in 'Ballroom Dance' started by StrongLead, Oct 24, 2012.

1. StrongLead

StrongLead New Member

I'm new to competition and am still learning some of the rules. I have a bronze/newcomer latin routine from a fellow college dance mate. Some of the moves included in the routine appear to be silver level though. He told me not to worry about it but I'm curious how the community feels about it. Are silver moves snuck into bronze routines kosher?

Int'l Latin chacha routine
    Open basic, open hip twist, ronde chasse into fan, alemana, open out with ronde chasse, new yorker, hand to hand with trip chachas, spot turn into a break with natural top, open out with ronde chasse, time steps, fan, hocky stick, open basic repeat~

I think it's the open hip twist and ronde chasses are silver?
    Any help appreciated :)
  2. dlliba10

dlliba10 Well-Known Member

You might be able to get away with the open hip twist depending on your invigilator (though it IS a Silver move, so I'd err on the safe side and not use it), but ronde chasses are pretty Silver and would be very conspicuous, considering how many times they're in your routine. I'd steer clear of those at least.
    ajiboyet, frotes and Larinda McRaven like this.
  3. Leon Theou

Leon Theou Active Member

Is it permitted to dance silver figures in a bronze event? No. It is not at all kosher. That said, whether you will get away with doing so will depend on if the invigilator sees you dance the offending figures. You have a bunch of ronde chasses in there and, as dlliba says, they are pretty conspicuous on the floor.

On another note, if you are dancing in a newcomer event, you may have a problem with fan, hockey stick, natural top, and opening out. Most comps that I have seen limit newcomers to the pre-bronze syllabus, and those four steps are in bronze.
  4. ajiboyet

ajiboyet Well-Known Member

Seconded. The ronde chasses jumped out at me too.
  5. debmc

debmc Well-Known Member