Tango Shoes & Salsa Shoes

Discussion in 'Tango Argentino' started by Salsera-danij, Nov 4, 2007.

1. Salsera-danij

Salsera-danij New Member

Is there really a difference between the two??

Im new to Tango so I have no idea!

I know the heels are different but is it just style or do Tango shoes provide some type of different stability than Tango shoes?

Thanks,
    Danielle
  2. tangotime

tangotime Well-Known Member

Think of it this way-- buying shoes at this point in time would be like buying a competition dress, when you dont know how to dance .

I know -- ladies LUV buying shoes . But-- see if your desire to continue, is as strong, in a couple or so months .
  3. Salsera-danij

Salsera-danij New Member

Well...it has been a couple of months since I started learning and I am still sticking with Tango.

I have already racked up a collection of Salsa shoes in the last 4 years and I just want to know if there is a difference between the two shoes.l
  4. bastet

bastet Active Member

If I understand the construction of latin shoes correctly- then a latin shoe will pitch your weight forward a little, like a tango shoe will. In that respect, they wold have a similarity. Style-wise they are very different. Salsa shoes tend to have chunkier thick Louis heels. The more popular tango shoes right now have very skinny stiletto heels (and unfortunately, most have very little padding).

Its been my experience that I can keep a forward but upright axis easier in shoes with 3 inch heel or lower. After that, I'm further forward than I like to be for the more athletic dancing I prefer though there are certainly plenty of ladies who wear them high and dance athletically, just see youtube.

Also- tango shoes come in the suede or half suede bottom variety and a full leather sole that can be worn on the street. I think most salsa shoes are suede bottoms- so you can't wear them on the street.