The tango connection

Discussion in 'Tango Argentino' started by Dr Tango, Sep 8, 2012.

1. Dr Tango

Dr Tango New Member

Last night, during a milonga in London, i had an experience that, in all my months of dancing, i've ever had: from the word go, i was totally unable to follow a single step that one leader, i was dancing with, was leading; nothing worked. No matter how i tried to adjust (i did try to rectify the nightmare and make it work - although maybe i shouldn't have), there was just total hopelessness. The other tandas i had during that evening were fine - like normal. Which got me thinking: i'm a Psychologist, BTW, and so, from a psychological perspective, the incident got me wondering about, fundamentally, why it is that with some partners, no matter what you do, "it" just doesn't happen: Why is that? What is it about the two dancers that means that, with some people, "it" just doesn't work (last night was an extreme illustration of a complete lack of something between us)? And, perhaps, is it that the people we dance least well with are the people we'd least get on with in life, outside of tango? Is there some correlation between the success of a dance partnership and the quality of that relationship outside of tango, should you get the opportunity to get to know them outside of tango? Last night's occurrence really shocked me....and got me thinking.....:confused: ;)
  2. opendoor

opendoor Well-Known Member

Hi DrT welcome!
    Turn it the other way round: it´s such a miracle that it does work every now and then! And it happend to me often that I could not dance with my favorite DP at all. Or it occured that she asked me: hey what´s on? Or the other way round: I discovered resistance and blockades that I asked to go to the bar instead and simply talk... Or if it was an unknown woman to me I found myself asking if she was a single mother.