total beginner: easy moves that work (on anyone)

Discussion in 'Salsa' started by matty, Oct 12, 2009.

1. matty

matty New Member

hi,

im a man, have been learning for about 2 or 3 month now,

but it seems that despite how much i love the music, i am still not able to dance seemlessly on the floor for a full song.. my teacher shows us some moves that are amazing but alas.. they are not proving to much use on the floor when i try them on unexpecting strangers. this probably makes you say im not a good lead, and you coud be right, but i think i can be a good lead IF i know some moves and am sure about them.

i feel i am missing some of the basic "grammar" of salsa

trying to run before i can walk!:doh:

just yesterday i taught myself the move "setenta" from youtube, and thaught .. this is the kind of stuff i need because i can use it on most dance partners regardless of their level.

so im just wondering if anyone else would have some helpful suggestions of other "bread & butter" or should i say "pan y mantequilla" moves to fill up the gaps and get me out there dancing seemlessly. (youtube examples welcome)

also any nice suggestions of how to change hand positions. for example. one friend showed me a nice way to switch hands leading into a sombrero, whereby i do a simple clockwise turn the grab the ladys right hand with my right and turn her.. then im set up for the sombrero!

i suppose the "dile que no" (or is it called "cross body lead?") is a good one for going from the standard "one hand on shoulder" dancing position into a holding both hands position. but what about the other way around?

as i said, i know a few combinations that have no names:confused:

but my repertoir of basic moves with names is this:

the simple turn!
    dile que no
    enchufla
    sombrero
    setenta

and to be honest thats about it...:(
  2. soplo

soplo New Member