Wedding Salsa?

Discussion in 'Salsa' started by bjp22tango, Jan 26, 2009.

1. bjp22tango

bjp22tango Active Member

I'm looking for a medium slow tempo Salsa that a beginner couple could dance at their wedding reception.

I've got lots of these on my mP3 player but I don't know Spanish so I don't know what's appropriate.

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance.

2. bjp22tango

bjp22tango Active Member

For instance, I like Fin de Semana es la Cita by Adalberto Alvarez y Su Son but I don't know what the lyrics are saying besides Weekend Date? or the Weekend is the time?

3. Albanaich

Albanaich New Member

Are you teaching them for a wedding dance?

If you can get some DVD's of the internet Ceroc looks much better and is much easier for total beginners. . . .

Ceroc (aka Modern Jive) - if you've not encountered it is a sort fusion of Salsa and ECS which can be danced to popular music.

Do a search under 'Modern Jive' on Youtube

4. bjp22tango

bjp22tango Active Member

They are into Salsa and Tango (American) so that's what we are doing, but I'm flying blind with the Spanish language. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

For instance, if I was choreographing a hustle for a wedding celebration I wouldn't pick "It's raining men" for the brides first dance LOL I just want to make sure I don't use anything inappropriate for the Salsa.

5. Albanaich

Albanaich New Member

That's fine. . . .I just thought they might be total beginners, if they were Ceroc is the easy option, you can look very good very quickly.

My son recently got married and I thought WCS (which is my dance), would look better, but my teacher, said no, we'll do Ceroc, it is easier to teach and they will look much better in the short time available - she was right.

Have taken a look at Jerry Rivera's stuff, its very popular and lyrics are easy to get. . .if needs be just paste them into Google to translate

Not exactly appropriate for a wedding - but it could be:)