What's "Right and Wrong" at a Milonga?

Discussion in 'Tango Argentino' started by Desert Diva, Nov 4, 2013.

1. Desert Diva

Desert Diva Member

If you haven't noticed by now, I have opinions about many things. I'm not always right, and sometimes I like to "bounce my thoughts" off of others to see if I'm valid in my feelings, etc...

I realize that everyone has to make a living, and we all pad our pocketbooks in different ways. However, I don't like the idea of someone trying to "chat me up" to sell me something. I'm specifically talking about multi-level marketing programs such as Mary Kay and Nerium.

I come to a milonga to socialize, have a glass of wine, and hopefully dance some beautiful tandas.

However, this has happened to me twice at a milonga - once in El Paso, and once recently at the Albuquerque Tango Festival. You're probably going to say, "Just say no." However, it's not always that easy. I was a teacher, and it's inbred in me to be nice and listen to people. It's obviously a flaw in my personality. I don't want to be rude, so I sit and listen to the sales pitch.

The women who sells Nerium was "working the room" when she wasn't dancing. Wait a minute, maybe she was working it when she WAS dancing. At one afternoon milonga she wore her sparkly Nerium tee shirt and was busy talking to anyone who would listen and handing out business cards.

Am I just being too "crazy" and judgmental? Sorry for the vent...

2. tangomaniac

tangomaniac Active Member

Say "give me your business card and I'll call AFTER the milonga because I'm here to dance." An alternative is report this person to the milonga promoter.

3. Desert Diva

Desert Diva Member

Thanks - that's a good politically correct way to not hurt feelings, but still enjoy the milonga. Thanks!

4. tangomaniac