When does social dancing get easier?

Discussion in 'General Dance Discussion' started by JustLiving08, Aug 20, 2009.

1. JustLiving08

JustLiving08 New Member

So my biggest obstacle in learning and improving in dance is social dancing. I don't really like it, do I enjoy it? meh... I suppose. I've been dancing on and off (mostly off) for 2 years. The majority of it comes from private lessons. I'm very much aware that if I want to get as advanced as I want and/or make full use of my lessons I need to get out and dance... but I don't. Or I do, but it's rare.

The anxiety that comes with it just doesn't make social dancing worth it to me. It's been 2 years and I'm still struggling with this, so seriously... does it get any easier? I feel like in order to get into social dancing or to enjoy it, I have all these rules. Half of the rules contradict each other so in the end, really the rules are just excuses.

There's a social dance tonight that I had planned on going to but right now, all I want to do is chill and relax at home. (This dance is once a month thing too, so if I miss it today my next opportunity to go will be next month.)

I'm sitting here trying to convince myself to go, and even though the pros outweigh the cons, the desire to stay home is just too great. :(

2. Peaches

Peaches Well-Known Member

What rules are you talking about? Are you a leader or a follower?

Speaking as someone who used to get sick to my stomach (from nerves) before lessons and social dances--yes, I ended up worshipping the porcelain god--yes, it does get easier.

3. JustLiving08

JustLiving08 New Member

I'm a follower.

My (crappy) "rules", but not really (mostly my issues with social dancing)-
    I'd prefer to be anonymous... except after 2 years and cycling through 9 (if not more) instructors, being anonymous is pretty hard.