Do you REALLY understand rule 11? Tie for 2nd...

Who won in the tie for 2nd place? (see post #1)

  • Couple A

    Votes: 26 55.3%
  • Couple B

    Votes: 10 21.3%
  • Tied

    Votes: 2 4.3%
  • Don't have a frigging clue

    Votes: 9 19.1%

  • Total voters
    47
#22
Couple A.

I think my craziest one was a 7-couple final at nationals years ago in pre-champ smooth. There were three separate rule 11's if I remember correctly. Unfortunately, we ended up in 2nd place instead of 1st on one of those rule 11's.

Christopher
 
#23
I think my craziest one was a 7-couple final at nationals years ago in pre-champ smooth. There were three separate rule 11's if I remember correctly. Unfortunately, we ended up in 2nd place instead of 1st on one of those rule 11's.
I remember, back in the days of hand scrutineering, giving the MC a go-ahead to start announcing results, because I would be finished with the last ones by the time she got to them (I had all the marks entered, just hadn't calculated the results). The last event to be announced (open smooth, I think - it's more prone to Rule-11 ties because there are an even number of dances) had three different Rule 11s. I was frantically trying to resolve the last one as the MC reached for the piece of paper. :doh: (It was the worst possible case for timing - both couples had equal majorities of 5ths and above, so I had to add up all the marks to determine the winner.)

When she saw what was happening, she called for a round of applause for the scrutineer, and pointed out that I'd been working continuously without a bathroom break for seven hours at that point. I got a standing ovation, which I acknowledged by standing up, with my head still down and still trying to count that darn final. :)
 
#24
Rule 11

I just competed at la classique du quebec and i competed in the ladies A division for the pro/am 5 dance scholarship..
i came 2nd and the organiser of the competition (who happens to be my coach) told me i tied for first but was given 2nd due to rule 11

does this actually exist ? if so, would someone care to explain the whole meaning behind rule 11 ? :p
 

etp777

Active Member
#25
Dancika, there definitely is a rule 11, used to break ties.

That being said, I definitely can't explain it, so someone here will have to help you. It's a somewhat controversial rule. There's obviously more than one way to break a tie, and not everyone agrees with rule 11.
 

reb

Active Member
#30
I just competed at la classique du quebec and i competed in the ladies A division for the pro/am 5 dance scholarship..
i came 2nd and the organiser of the competition (who happens to be my coach) told me i tied for first but was given 2nd due to rule 11

does this actually exist ? if so, would someone care to explain the whole meaning behind rule 11 ? :p

Rule 11 - its really easy - go back a couple pages in this same thread to post #17 & #18 . . .


(thanks etp and TC)
 
#32
I started to write this out as a 'simple' statement and then gave up - I'd follow Reb's advice ;)

Oh, and CONGRATS and not only on this result but also on the others which were even better ;)
 
#33
Dancika, there definitely is a rule 11, used to break ties.

That being said, I definitely can't explain it, so someone here will have to help you. It's a somewhat controversial rule. There's obviously more than one way to break a tie, and not everyone agrees with rule 11.
I've never heard any controversy surrounding the rule (sure when someone LOSES to it).

Yes there is ONE other way... Rule 10 (which they will use first before going to Rule 11). For those who read this and won't go digging back to post ####, simply put: Line up all the marks from all judges and all dances (for each competitor) and score the event as if it were all ONE dance.
 

NielsenE

Active Member
#34
Yeah I wouldn't say its controversial, just fairly rare (and often the MC doesn't mention when its used) so a lot of dancers don't get exposed to it.
 
#35
do i want to know what rule 21 is ? haha or does that actually not exist
You would doubt veterans like Joe and Egoist? ;)
***, people, don't you know Rule 21 comes right after Rule 20?
Maybe people will recognize it by its more common name: "The Blackjack Rule". If I remember correctly this rule states that ties will be decided in favor of the couple that wears the most make-up. Therefore, if you don't want to be beaten by the Blackjack Rule wear tons of make-up!
 
#36
Yeah I wouldn't say its controversial, just fairly rare (and often the MC doesn't mention when its used) so a lot of dancers don't get exposed to it.
Agreed it's not controversial but can involve alot of work. Worst part is that they normally crop up in the last final of 10 hour day and involve 5 dances and 7 judges
 

liz

New Member
#37
I have had my results go to rule 11 a couple of times.. But, never in my favor..sniff, sniff... I hate that stupid rule 11..
 

Dance Ads